E-mail received 11-23-08


Some good things accomplished from Safe Horizon moving victims of violence from crisis to confidence!

Dear Amy,

As the holidays draw near, many of us pause to think about everything we have to be thankful for…family…friends…our homes…health…and so much more.

At Safe Horizon, one of the primary things we are thankful for this year – is you. Your support enables Safe Horizon to help so many New Yorkers recover from the hurt and trauma caused by crime and abuse. Your generosity has touched their lives in ways that you can’t begin to imagine.

Everyone has something to be thankful for. I wanted to share with you some of the things that people we help are grateful for this holiday season:

* “Safe Horizon helped me get into a safe, emergency shelter to escape my abusive husband. We also got support and learned about how violence in our home affected me and my two boys. My sons now understand that it’s not their fault…that their dad’s violence is wrong. Some scars remain, but because of you, we will spend the holidays free of fear.” – Sally A.*

* “I’m thankful that you were there the day I brought my six-year-old daughter to your Child Advocacy Center in Brooklyn. She had been sexually molested by an uncle and was confused and scared. Your doctors and counselors were wonderful to her and helped me find a therapist. I’m now better able to deal with my own guilt and I’m working to keep my family together.” – Jenny G.

* “I’m thankful that Safe Horizon came right away to put a new lock on my door after my apartment was robbed.” – Dominick R.

Crisis intervention…medical attention…temporary shelter…counseling…new locks…the list of our services goes on and on. Services that can be provided because of you – and we are so grateful.

To learn more about the powerful ways that your support makes a difference, please visit http://www.safehorizon.org/.

You are playing a vital role helping victims become survivors. Thank you for your compassion, generosity, and partnership.

I wish you all the best for a peaceful Thanksgiving holiday.

Sincerely,

Ariel Zwang
Chief Executive Officer

* Names have been changed to protect their identities

Safe Horizon
2 Lafayette Street, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10007
212.577.7700

Tell a Friend

Homepage http://www.safehorizon.org/

About sweetcardomom

I am a mother, grandmother and advocate for those suffering from the torment of emotional abuse regardless of gender, or who the abuser is. Emotional abuse can come from anyone around you whether personal or professional. Parents, spouses, lovers, teachers, siblings, co-workers, bosses, and even your therapist. I am a survivor and have grown a lot during the past few months. The struggle continues and so do I. Hoping to make a difference "One Person At A Time" ~ sweetcardomom
This entry was posted in Boyfriend Abuse, Bullies, Child Abuse, Controlling People, Dangerous People, Dangerous Relationships, Emotional Abuse, Emotional Healing, Manipulative People, parenting, pathologicals, Psychopaths, The Evil One Sociopath, Uncategorized, Verbal Abuse, Wolves In Sheeps Clothing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

